On 20-8-2016, the valedictory function of the zonal sports for the academic year 2016-17 organised by Harbour Higher Secondary School and Tuticorin Port Educational Agency was held in a grand manner at the Tuticorin stadium grounds. More than 800 Boys and Girls from 55 schools took part in the Sports meet.

In the boys category, St. Thomas Matriculation Higher secondary school secured 95 points and emerged as best school in games. APC Veerabahu Matriculation Higher Secondary School, Tuticorin emerged as best school in sports with 61 points. J.Kulanthai Sami, from Lasalle Higher Secondary School, in under - 14 category and G.Pappaiya Samy from Lasalle Higher Secondary School & Dean Jones from St. Thomas Matriculation Higher secondary school, in under 17 category and Arun Harish from BMC Matriculation Higher Secondary school in under 19 category were adjudged as individual champions.

In the girls category, Holy Cross Anglo Indian Higher Secondary School, Tuticorin emerged as Best school in games and Sports with 180 points and 137 points respectively. Breethika devi, in under -14 category, E.Manisha, in under -17 category, J. Sureka & N. Laura in under -19 category, all from Holy Cross Anglo Indian Higher Secondary School, Tuticorin were adjudged as individual champions.

Shri. P. Raveendran, chief mechanical engineer of V.O. Chidambaranar Port and President of VOC Port Educational Agency, welcomed the gathering.

Chief guest of the function Shri S. Anantha Chandra Bose, Chairman, V.O. Chidambaranar Port Trust, in his address stated that participation in sports and games has many mental health benefits including increased focus, greater ability to work with others, and a potential boost of self-confidence. Shri S. Anantha Chandra Bose, Chairman, V.O. Chidambaranar Port Trust, also distributed the prizes to the winners of various competitions.

Guest of honour, Shri S. Natarajan, Deputy Chairman, V.O. Chidambaranar Port Trust, in his address, emphasized the need for participating in competitions on regular basis to exhibit the talent.

Shri A. Rosary Eugine Sahayaraj, Head Master, Harbour higher secondary school delivered the vote of thanks.

